Jamie | 28. December 2020

2021 BLAST Premier Plans Unveiled, Featuring $2.48m in Prize Money

BLAST has announced its plans for the 2021 BLAST Premier Championship, with the Counter-Strike: Global Offensive competition set to be worth some $2.48 million in prize money. Due to get underway in February, lasting until December, the leading events organizers have revealed that there will be “opportunities to all regions” during the upcoming qualifying series.

Those successful at this stage will move onto the BLAST Premier Spring and Fall Showdowns, before potentially qualifying for the Finals. The final BLAST event of the year will be the World Final, the same as in 2020. Members of the BLAST Premier will automatically be entered into the Fall and Spring Groups, while winners of the Spring and Fall Finals, Flashpoint 3 and 4, ESL Pro League 13 and 14 and Valve Fall Major will them compete in the World Final.

One new addition to the 2021 format is that non-member teams participating in the BLAST Premier will be handed a participation fee. Astralis, Ninjas in Pyjamas, G2 Esports, OG Esports, Team Vitality, Natus Vincere, FaZe Clan, Complexity Gaming, MiBR, Evil Geniuses and Team Liquid are the current BLAST Premier Member teams.

Key Dates for the BLAST Premier 2021

The following is a breakdown of how the BLAST Premier will run in 2021, including key dates and prize money:

  • BLAST Premier Spring Groups – $150,000 (4th-14th February)
  • BLAST Premier Spring Showdown – $162,500 (13th-18th April)
  • BLAST Premier Spring Final – $425,000 (15th-20th June)
  • BLAST Premier Fall Groups – $150,000 (26th August – 5th September)
  • BLAST Premier Fall Showdown – $162,500 (12th-17th October)
  • BLAST Premier Fall Final – $425,000 (23rd-28th November)
  • BLAST Premier World Final – $1,000,000 (14th-19th December)

What BLAST Has Said on the Announcement

Speaking on the announcement, BLAST CEO, Robbie Douek, stated that: “BLAST Premier will be back for 2021 with fans set to enjoy more top-tier CS:GO than ever before. We will unite all leading tournaments and performers from across the calendar year, with all roads leading towards December’s World Final where $1m in prize money will be up for grabs and a chance to be crowned the world’s best Counter Strike team.

“Next year’s format will be the most inclusive on the Counter Strike scene and offer teams from regions all over the world an opportunity to compete in our highly anticipated events, thanks to our new qualifying series.”

We are still waiting to see which teams reach the Blast Premier Season World Final this year, which is due to take place between January 18-24 early next year. We also await to see whether fans will be able to attend such events live, something in which has been missed over recent months.