Henrieta Hyrliková | 9. May 2022

PGL Major Antwerp 2022 underway

PGL Major Antwerp, the first CS:GO Major of 2022, has commenced today with the first rounds of the initial Challengers Stage. The global competition features 24 CS:GO teams fighting for $1 million in prize money, important EPL and BLAST Premier circuit points, as well as a seed into the BLAST Premier World Final 2022. 

The long-anticipated tournament started with European domination as teams including Team Vitality, G2, Astralis, forZe and Bad News Eagles defeated their opponents in the first matches of the day. 

The competition, which for the first time takes place in Belgium, marks the 17th edition of the prestigious CS:GO tournament sponsored by Valve. The previous edition of the event, which was held last October in Stockholm, saw the Russian squad Natus Vincere walk out with the title of Major Champions. 

Astralis win PGL Antwerp 2022

Astralis defeat IHC Esports 16-2 on Nuke.


PGL Major Antwerp will be split into three stages based on teams’ RMR qualifications. The first, Challengers Stage features 16 teams battling for one of the eight spots in the following Legends Stage, where eight teams with the “Legends” status are already awaiting their opponents. Both Challengers and Legends Stages will use a Swiss system tournament format, where all matches are best-of-one, except advancement and elimination games, which are best-of-three series.  

The top eight teams from the Legends Stage will then advance into the playoffs also named the Champions Stage. While the first two stages will be played behind closed doors, the last stage will be held in front of a live audience at the Antwerps Sportpaleis arena. 

The Champions stage will use a single-elimination bracket with all matches being best-of-three. The grand final is set to take place on May 22 and will see the winners cash out half of the prize pool. 

PGL Major Antwerp schedule: 

  • Challengers Stage (May 9-12)
  • Legends Stage (May 14-17)
  • Champions Stage (May 19-22) 


While the event features some of the world’s best CS:GO teams, all of the participants had to qualify via Regional Major Ranking (RMR) tournaments.

Teams competing in the Challengers Stage include Astralis, Team Spirit, Bad News Eagles, forZe, Outsiders, MIBR, Vitality, 9z, Eternal Fire, G2 Esports, ENCE, IHC Esports, Complexity, Team Liquid, Renegades and Imperial. 

Teams competing in the Legends Stage include BIG, Heroic, Natus Vincere, FaZe Clan, Ninjas in Pyjamas, Cloud9, FURIA and Copenhagen Flames. 

How to watch

Viewers can tune into the live broadcast of the event on PGL’s Twitch and YouTube channels, where they can also find VODs and highlights.

Image credit: PGL