Eduardo | 25. January 2023

Overwatch World Cup 2023

After a few incredible months since its launch, Overwatch 2 is now managing to remain one of the main free-to-play games. Although there are many controversies due to monetization policies and Blizzard’s exit from China, the video game is going through a good moment.

This is reflected due to the return of its most important competition, the Overwatch World Cup 2023. At the end of 2022, it was reported that the Overwatch World Cup was returning with a new competition format and with the participation of many countries worldwide.

Overwatch World Cup returns after a three-year hiatus

The Overwatch World Cup returns in 2023 after a three-year hiatus and, as mentioned, will feature the participation of national and regional teams from many parts of the world. In the last few hours, Blizzard has officially revealed the list of the 36 teams participating in the online qualifiers. They also detailed the format and structure of the event.

There is no doubt that this new edition of the Overwatch World Cup is set to be the biggest since the first one. Let’s remember that Blizzard confirmed the return of this long-awaited event in early December 2022.

The 2023 edition of the Overwatch World Cup is set to be the biggest since the inaugural edition of the event. Blizzard confirmed the return of the highly anticipated event in early December 2022, providing Overwatch enthusiasts with a clear outline of the World Cup.


Based on data from the extensive global Overwatch 2 player base, Blizzard decided to divide the 36 participating teams into three different conferences. Each conference consists of two other groups of countries and regions.

In addition to the 36 qualified teams, the Overwatch World Cup 2023 will feature a wildcard qualifier, adding four spots for participating teams. Full details of this wildcard challenge will be announced on February 1, 2023.

Blizzard allocated a place to China among the top 16 of this World Cup. This will prevent them from having to compete in the online qualifiers, and they will directly compete in the Group Stage in LAN format. The game developers have made this decision due to the current situation of Overwatch 2 in China.

Since 2019, this is the first time we will see the Overwatch World Cup on our screens again. China, having taken the podium in that case, has an assured spot after the playoffs, leaving us with 15 other teams: 3 in the A blocks and 2 in the B blocks. Thus, more than half of the participants would be eliminated.

Participating teams

According to the official information from Blizzard, the teams participating in this World Cup 2023 will be:

Americas Conference (AMER)


  • Canada
  • Costa Rica
  • Guatemala
  • Mexico
  • Puerto Rico
  • United States


  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Columbia
  • Ecuador
  • Peru

Europe and Middle East Conference (EMEC)


  • Belgium
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Spain


  • Germany
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Sweden
  • Turkey

Asia-Pacific Conference (APAC)


  • Chinese Taipei
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Philippines
  • South Korea


  • Australia
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • Thailand

Distribution of slots

As mentioned, due to China’s direct slot for the Group Stage, the 36 teams will have to fight for 15 of the Overwatch World Cup Group Stage.

The distribution of the slots will be as follows:

  • AMER A – 3
  • AMER B – 2
  • EMEC A – 3
  • EMEC B – 2
  • APAC A – 3
  • APAC B – 2

Competition Committees

According to Blizzard’s official blog regarding the Overwatch World Cup 2023, the places to be filled will be:

  • Manager: is responsible for team operations and communications with Blizzard.
  • Coach: is responsible for leading tryouts, player selection, and all competitive aspects of the team.
  • Social Media Lead: responsible for the team’s social media, content, and participatory activities.

As we have more information regarding the tournament, dates, and other details, we will post them.

Header: Blizzard Entertainment