How do ranks work in Street Fighter 6?

Street Fighter 6, the upcoming fighting game by Capcom and the seventh installment in the series, is already generating... Jason | 25. May 2023

Street Fighter 6, the upcoming fighting game by Capcom and the seventh installment in the series, is already generating excitement among fighting game enthusiasts. This game is set to launch on 2 June 2023 on PS5/4, Xbox X|S, and Windows. With the open beta just days away, players are eager to learn about the game’s Ranked System. This guide provides essential information about the Ranked System in Street Fighter 6, to fans seeking knowledge on this aspect of the highly anticipated game.

Ranks in Street Fighter 6

Street Fighter 6 will introduce a ranked system with a total of eight leagues. Each league will have five different ranks, ranging from Rookie to Master. Your rank within a league will increase as you progress, going from, for example, Silver 1 to Silver 2. Below are all the league ranks to be featured in Street Fighter 6:

  • Rookie
  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Diamond
  • Platinum
  • Master

Keep this in mind, you will not be allotted an immediate rank as soon as you start the game. You have to earn the ranks after playing ten competitive matches. On the bases of all these ten matches, you will be awarded a certain rank from the above mention list. Although it will have some initial rank ceiling.

Furthermore, you will also have to select your current skillset. This is not something new but has been already implemented in various games. There will be the following options to choose from:

  • Beginner
  • Novice
  • Intermediate
  • Advanced

Just select the option which defines you most and then you can begin with placement matches. However, the difficulty of those matches will also depend on your skillset selection.

Rank determination

Your rank will be determined separately for each character you play in competitive mode. This means you need to rank up one by one for each character based on your skill with them. If you switch to a new character, you’ll have to go through those then placements game again and start in a new rank tier. You’ll have to climb the ladder once more to progress with that character.

You need to earn League Points to progress through rank tiers. Winning matches grants more points, but losses may deduct points, especially in higher tiers. This system benefits newcomers to the franchise, while higher-ranked players face challenges in maintaining their rank on the leaderboard.

Rank tiers in Street Fighter 6 have different conditions, granting bonuses or penalties based on your performance. Rules vary across different leagues in Street Fighter 6. You can take a reference from the below image.

Street Fighter 6 Ranks Guide

Source: Capcom

To create an unbiased experience in Street Fighter 6’s ranked play, Capcom aims to support both new players and pros. Win streak bonuses and no League Point deductions on defeats is an indeed great addition. This will help newcomer players learn the game without excessive league points loss.

Header: Capcom