ESL Pro League Season 17: All participant teams

Now that the Conference Europe qualifying tournament has concluded, we have the full list of teams that will compete... Shubh | 22. January 2023

Now that the Conference Europe qualifying tournament has concluded, we have the full list of teams that will compete in the ESL Pro League Season 17. 

The Russian team forZe, beat Endpoint 2-1 at the ESL Season 17 Conference Europe qualifying tournament to secure the last spot in the seventeenth season of the ESL’s flagship league. At the LAN event in Malta, they will be joined by 15 Louvre Agreement partners, six invited teams from ESL’s world ranking, and 10 additional teams who qualified through regional Conference tournaments.

The event will begin on February 22 with the group stage and culminate on March 26 with the crowning of a champion. It will feature an $850,000 USD total prize pool and a direct ticket to IEM Cologne 2023.

ESL Pro League Season 17  Format

The ESL will divide the 32 participant teams into four groups of eight teams each, using a triple-elimination format. The teams who finished third and fourth in their respective groups will compete in Round 16, while the group winners will move directly to the quarterfinals. Except for the championship game, which is a best-of-five match, the playoffs will be single-elimination with all games will still be best-of-three.

Participant teams

After taking first place in the online qualifier, ATK became the first team from the North America Conference to confirm their place in the ESL Pro League Season 17. MIBR jumped on board and defeated Nouns Esports in the lower bracket to secure the second North American spot at the ESL. Meanwhile, Grayhound and Rooster dominated the Oceania region to secure a spot at the LAN event in Malta. 

After defeating Lynn Vision in the lower bracket, the Mongolian underdogs IHC joined the Chinese powerhouse Rare Atom as the two Asian teams competing at the EPL. The two ESL Pro League places available in the South American Conference tournament were claimed by Imperial and 00NATION.

Three more Brazilian teams will also participate in the competition, including the partnered team FURIA, MIBR, which won the South American Conference, and paiN, which took first place at the September ESL Challenger Melbourne.

EPL Season 17 Conference winners

  •  Eternal Fire
  •  SAW
  •  Grayhound
  •  Rooster
  •  Rare Atom
  •  IHC
  •  Imperial
  •  00NATION
  •  MIBR
  •  ATK
  •  forZe

ESL Partnered teams

  • Fnatic
  •  FURIA
  •  G2
  •  Astralis
  •  BIG
  •  Complexity
  •  NIP
  •  Liquid
  •  Heroic
  •  MOUZ
  •  NAVI
  •  ENCE
  •  Evil Geniuses
  •  FaZe
  • Vitality

Invited teams 

  •  Movistar Riders (ESL Challenger Valencia)
  •  Outsiders (ESL Challenger Rotterdam
  •  paiN (ESL Challenger Melbourne)
  •  Cloud9 (ESL World Ranking)
  •  OG (ESL World Ranking)
  •  Team Spirit (ESL World Ranking)

Header: ESL Gaming